Multiplayer sessions in WARFRAME are hosted peer-to-peer (P2P), meaning a single person is selected by the game to be the host of a particular session. Any additional players who join that session will be connected to the host player's machine. Host migration is the consequence of a drop in connection from the host, forcing the game to choose another player in the same session to be the host instead. If a host migration is successful, the remaining players will continue the session, retaining rewards and progress made (to a certain extent). However, if a host migration fails, all players will be taken back to the Orbiter, potentially losing rewards gained in that session.
Players in Solo matchmaking will not experience host migration as they host the sessions themselves.
Situations That Lead to Host Migration[edit | edit source]
- When host player extracts in Defense and Interception missions after the end of a rotation.
- When host player performs an individual extraction during Survival, Excavation, Defection, and Disruption missions.
- When host player doesn't continue through the portal during Sanctuary Onslaught and Elite Sanctuary Onslaught.
- When host player aborts the mission through the menu.
- When host player to exit out of WARFRAME, the game crashed, or system shutdown.
- When host player loses internet connection.
- When host player gets captured by Zanuka Hunter.
If Host Disconnects During Endless Missions[edit | edit source]
“It's taking longer than I calculated.”This page is actively being worked on and may not be completely correct. Please assist in making this page accurate.
Not 100% sure, please fix
Rotation rewards during endless missions (Defense, Survival, Interception, Excavation, Disruption, etc.), including opening Void Relics during Void Fissures, can be recovered by the game if a host migration fails. Ordis may send a message to disconnected players, containing 'lost' rewards up the rotation before they disconnected:
(Attachments: Lost rewards)
Any picked-up Resources, Mods, and Ayatan Treasures and Affinity earned by equipment will be lost upon a failed host migration since these rewards are determined client-side, not server-side, which means that the game's servers cannot verify their existence, leading to the loss of these.
Notes[edit | edit source]
- The host player will always be denoted by a "1" next to their name in the player list sidebar (default key to toggle ).
Bugs[edit | edit source]
- Rarely, host migrations would result in joining a completely different session from the one the player was currently in, across different missions types even.